Home > ActionScript 3.0, MultiTouch Programming > Getting Started with MultiTouch ActionScript 3.0 Programming in FlashDevelop

Getting Started with MultiTouch ActionScript 3.0 Programming in FlashDevelop

September 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This post has been moved to – http://blog.amitsarangi.me/getting-started-with-multitouch-actionscript-3-0-programming-in-flashdevelop/

  1. September 23, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I’ve always wondered about the use of
    var curPt:Point = parent.globalToLocal(new Point(e.stageX, e.stageY));

    On specific object, it makes sense, but if you are technically already touching a square that takes up the whole area of the stage, stageX,stageY and the conversion to local x and y would be the exact same value, wouldn’t they? Is globalToLocal then just taking up extra processing?

    • September 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

      Hello cyancdesign . I just copied and pasted the code as given in the original link , so that it will not be difficult to follow for the newcomers . By the way we also can write the code as

                  circle.graphics.lineStyle(10, 0xff0000); //set line width to 10px and red
                  circle.graphics.drawCircle(0,0,40); // draw a 40px circle
                  circle.x = e.stageX; //put it where touch is (x cord)
                  circle.y = e.stageY; //put it where touch is (y cord)
      

      I feel the conversion of the point is to show the people about the existance so that it will be helpful when they are making some widget type of things . Then the
      function globalToLocal will really be significant at least to understand the code.

  2. December 3, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Thank you,
    very interesting article

  3. December 7, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Nicely article

  4. December 13, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Excuse me for writing Off-Topic … what Word Press theme are you using? It looks amazing.

    • December 13, 2009 at 8:17 pm

      Its “INove by mg12” 😉 .

  5. Abhinav
    January 26, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I am new to Multitouch programming. I a just wondering how to handle simultaneous touch movements on screen. How to get coordinates of 2 different touch points simultaneously. Can anyone throw light on this??

    • January 29, 2010 at 6:46 am

      I would suggest you to go through the code of RotatbleScalable.as. there all the function are there to process the touch points, to rotate and move. Thatw why when we have to make a Sprite multitouch enabled, we just extend it to the RotatbleScalable class and all calculations are handled inside the class. You need not worry about that. And if you want to get the touch points yourself , that also you can do.

  6. saurabh
    December 30, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Nice post very usefull..

  7. shiv Govind Patel
    November 7, 2011 at 3:39 am

    hello
    i got some problem at line –
    TUIO.init(this,’localhost’,3000,”,true);
    ERROR:- 1120: Access of undefined property TUIO.

    i m using Flash CS5 . I am also saw TUIOsimulator. I run Flosc.jar and Simulator.jar work nicely but how I can use it in my AS3 applications. how compile my code sucessfully.

    plz help me I am newbie on this.

    thanks…

  8. Hiren
    December 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Hi, I am new at this thing. I tried to run another MultiTouch AS3 code that I copied from below site,

    http://gestureworks.com/legacy-tutorials/multitouch-tap/

    But, I am not getting any response by touch. :/ [I had multitouch LCD also.]

  9. May 31, 2013 at 1:12 am

    how to add touchlib into my project in flash develop i don’t understand???

  1. August 16, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

